Organizers: Vrushali Bokil, Patrick De Leenheer and Enrique Thomann

Winter 2020 Organizers: Blessing Emerenini, Vrushali Bokil and Patrick De Leenheer

Meeting time: Wednesdays at noon in KIDD 237

The Mathematical Biology Seminar attempts to bring together those interested in applying mathematical techniques to important biological problems. The seminar will be comprised of talks by students and faculty in mathematics as well as from several ecological and biological departments from across the Oregon State University campus. Talks revolve around the mathematics of infectious diseases, deterministic and stochastic models of population dynamics, spatial ecology, and genomics, among others.

Attendees are encouraged to join the mailing lists: student mailing list and faculty mailing list.

Archive of Mathematical Biology Seminar

Date/Time Location Event Type Local Speaker Guest Speaker Title
Wed, 2019-10-02 16:00 STAG 160 Mathematical Biology Seminar Organizational Meeting
Wed, 2019-10-09 16:00 STAG 160 Mathematical Biology Seminar TBA
Wed, 2019-11-13 16:00 STAG 160 Mathematical Biology Seminar Will White Cohort resonance and the stability of exploited populations in variable environments
Wed, 2019-11-20 16:00 STAG 160 Mathematical Biology Seminar Bruce Menge Conceptual modeling in community ecology: integration of the effects of environmental stress and productivity gradients on structuring processes in the context of climate change
Wed, 2019-11-27 16:00 STAG 160 Mathematical Biology Seminar Patrick De Leenheer Computing eigenvectors from eigenvalues
Wed, 2019-12-04 16:00 STAG 160 Mathematical Biology Seminar Desiree Tullos TBA
Wed, 2019-12-11 16:00 STAG 160 Mathematical Biology Seminar Frederick Hamelin Taking advantage of pathogen diversity and plant immunity to minimize disease prevalence
Wed, 2020-01-15 12:00 Kidd 237 Mathematical Biology Seminar Organizational Meeting
Wed, 2020-01-22 12:00 Kidd 237 Mathematical Biology Seminar Mathematical modeling of within-host influenza infection dynamics
Wed, 2020-01-29 12:00 Kidd 237 Mathematical Biology Seminar Carolyn CHO (Mathematical) Model-Informed Drug Development MBI – Online Colloquium
Wed, 2020-02-05 12:00 Kidd 237 Mathematical Biology Seminar No seminar
Wed, 2020-02-12 16:00 Withycombe 109 Mathematical Biology Seminar Marc Mangel (hosted by EECB Seminar series) Special EECB seminar titled "Ecological Detection in the Arctic: Three Vignettes"
Wed, 2020-02-19 12:00 Kidd 237 Mathematical Biology Seminar Blowup solutions of a Navier-Stokes-like equation – A probabilistic perspective
Wed, 2020-02-26 12:00 Kidd 237 Mathematical Biology Seminar Nathan Schumaker Matrix models as a tool for demystifying complex life history simulators
Wed, 2020-03-04 12:00 Kidd 237 Mathematical Biology Seminar Zachary Randell Dynamical landscape controlled by rugosity of benthic substrate
Wed, 2020-03-11 12:00 Mathematical Biology Seminar Concluding talk on "Blowup solutions of a Navier-Stokes-like equation – A probabilistic perspective"