Last weekend (Oct 27-29) our department hosted the First Biennial SIAM PNW conference (, with around 150 participants (70 faculty, 60 students, and other) from several universities, labs, and industry across PNW and elsewhere. It featured 4 plenaries, 11 thematic sessions with 70 presentations, and a 26-poster session with a Poster Blitz.

The Organizing Committee would like to thank all who supported us and helped. Local Organizing Committee included Elaine Cozzi, Nathan Gibson, Robert Higdon, Deanne Murray, Mina Ossiander, Malgorzata Peszynska, and Ralph Showalter, as well as the many student volunteers: Azhar Alhammali, Zack Barry, Lisa Bigler, Ali Chick, Cyntha Cruz Sanchez, Diana Gonzalez, Sandra Nguemto, Will Mayfield, Ricardo Reyes-Grimaldo, Choah Shin, Joe Umhoefer, and JJ Zeng. We also would like to thank the Department and College for the support and resources.

Sunday, October 29, 2017