The first NUMS conference was held Saturday, May 9 at OSU. There were 33 attendees representing EOU, OSU, Pacific, Willamette and WOU, including 17 speakers filling two parallel sessions.

    Presentation awards were made to the following:
  • Best Long Talk: Kerensa Gimre, Pacific
  • Best Short Talk: Corey Goll, WOU
  • AWM Prize: Brittany Cuff, Pacific
  • SIAM Prize: Karsten Gimre, Pacific
  • PME Prize: Alex Brummer, OSU

Additionally, prizes were given to the winners of the Math Jeopardy contest during lunch.

Sponsors of the conference included: OSU Student Foundation ($400), Pi Mu Epsilon ($100), Pearson Publishing ($50), Fred Meyer ($50), Papa's Pizza Parlor ($50),

The organizing committee consisted of: Nathan Gibson, Steven Brinkley, Max Brugger, Alex Brummer, Grant Bushnell, Michael Donatz, Aubrey Leung, Julie Linman, Zanette Numazu, and Nicholas Stevenson.

Sunday, May 10, 2009