The second annual NUMS conference was held Saturday, April 24 at OSU. There
were 45 participants representing Humboldt State University, Lewis and
Clark, OSU, Pacific, PSU, Reed, UO, WOU, and Willamette,
including 17 speakers filling two parallel sessions. The keynote address
was given by Prof. David Perkinson from Reed College. Student paper titles
and abstracts are listed at the href="">NUMS website.

    Presentation awards were made to the following:
  • Best Long Talk: Stephanie Jones, Willamette University
  • Best Short Talk: Laura K. Waight, Western Oregon University
  • AWM Prize: Rosie Leung and Ila Peterson, Oregon State University
  • SIAM Prize: Mitch Staehle, Western Oregon University
  • PME Prize: Nicholas Gard, Western Oregon University
  • OSU Math Club Prize: Gregory Rice, Oregon State University

Additionally, prizes were given to the winners of the Math Jeopardy contest
during lunch.

Sponsors of the conference included: OSU Educational Activities, MAA-RUMC
via NSF grant DMS-0846477, Pi Mu Epsilon, Fred Meyer, Shirt Circuit, Papa's Pizza
Parlor, and many others. Special thanks to our OSU
Mathematics Student Organizations
for co-sponsoring and organizing.

The organizing committee consisted of: Prof. Nathan Gibson, Prof. Holly
Swisher, Prof. Bob Burton, Max Brugger, Alex Brummer, Grant Bushnell,
Jonathan Hunt, Robin Leung, Rosie Leung, Ila Peterson, and Greg Rice.

Saturday, May 8, 2010