* Nathan Gibson is co-PI for a recently awarded grant from the Bonneville Power Administration (BPA): "Development of a state-of-the-art computational framework and platform for the optimal control of multi-reservoir systems under uncertainty."

* The Geometry of Special Relativity by Tevian Dray is hot off the CRC presses - there is a copy in the math lounge area for anyone interested in taking a look.  Congratulations, Tevian!

* Carrie Manore has been selected as OSU's recipient of the CGS/Proquest 2012 Distinguished Dissertation Award in Mathematics, Physical Science and Engineering.  In addition to this prestigious award, Dr. Manore's dissertation abstract has been advanced for consideration in the national CGS/ProQuest Distinguished Dissertation Award in Mathematics, Physical Science and Engineering competition. Congratulations to Carrie and to her thesis advisor, Dr. Vrushali Bokil!

* Dr. Irene Hazou has been appointed the Vice President for Academic Affairs at Bethlehem University, the first time in that university's history that a Palestinian has held such a significant leadership position.

Dr. Hazou received her MS (1980) and PhD (1986) in mathematics from Oregon State University.  (See the September 24 OSU Today for an article about Dr. Hazou.)

* Christine Escher received one of the inaugural Women in Science awards for 2012 from the College of Science (her smiling face is featured on the COS website: http://www.science.oregonstate.edu).

* Congratulations to Mary Flahive.  Mary was announced as the 2012 winner of the Olaf Boedtker Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising at last week's College of Science Awards Day.

 * Congratulations to Filix Maisch.  Filix was one of five nominees for the Loyd Carter Award for Outstanding and Inspirational Undergraduate Teaching at last week's College of Science Awards Day.

 * A warm welcome to new faces among our faculty:

 Mary Beisiegel, assistant professor

Catherine Searle, visiting professor

Tushar Das, postdoctoral scholar

Stefano Guerra, research associate

Son Nguyen, postdoctoral scholar

Justin Webster, postdoctoral scholar

Veronika Vasylviska, postdoctoral scholar

Torrey Johnson, instructor

Joshua Traxler, instructor

Lyn Riverstone, instructor

Linda Mummy, instructor

Christel Wohlafka, instructor

 * All faculty (tenure track, fixed term instructors, postdocs, research associates, visitors) and graduate students are invited to the first department meeting from 2-2:45 pm Tuesday September 25 in Kidder 364.  (This meeting will be immediately followed by a meeting of tenure track faculty.)

Sunday, September 23, 2012