Skip to main content
Tevian Dray in front of black backdrop

Tevian Dray

Department of Mathematics
Department of Physics

Tevian Dray

Department of Mathematics
Department of Physics


Professor Dray's research lies at the interface between mathematics and physics, using differential geometry to study general relativity, nonassociative algebra to describe particle physics, and studying student understanding of "middle-division" mathematics and physics content. Educated at MIT and Berkeley, he held postdoctoral positions in both mathematics and physics in Germany, the Netherlands, Princeton, England, and India prior to coming to OSU in 1988. Professor Dray is an award-winning teacher, and a Fellow of the American Physical Society.


Past work has emphasized General Relativity, studying model spacetimes and their properties, as well as the interface between relativity and quantum physics. Current work investigates applications of the Octonions, the unique non-associative division algebra, to the physics of fundamental particles. Other past and present interests include Algebraic Computing, Asymptotic Structure, Non-Euclidean Geometry, Quantum Field Theory in Curved Space, and Signature Change. Work in Mathematics Education includes directing the Vector Calculus Bridge Project, co-directing the Paradigms in Physics Project, and designing course content for the Oregon Mathematics Leadership Institute, as well as close collaboration with the Physics Education Group at OSU and membership in the ESTEME group of science educators at OSU.

Research Interests


Ph.D. in Mathematics, UC Berkeley, 1981

B.S. in Mathematics, MIT, 1976


  • The Geometry of Special Relativity, CRC Press, 2012
    Differential Forms and the Geometry of General Relativity, CRC Press, 2014
    The Geometry of the Octonions, World Scientific, 2015
    The Geometry of Special Relativity (2nd edition), CRC Press, 2021
    A complete list can be found here.


  • Frederick Horne Award, 2004
    UHC Outstanding Professor, 2009
    Fellow, American Physical Society, 2010
    Loyd Carter Award, 2011
    UHC Eminent Professor, 2012
    Elizabeth P. Ritchie Distinguished Professor, 2014
    Haimo Award (MAA), 2017.
    A complete list can be found here.


  • A complete list can be found here.