Skip to main content
Oksana Ostroverkhova walking towards the stage to receive her award

2016 Winter Teaching & Advising Awards

2016 Winter Teaching and Advising awards

The College of Science celebrated our 2016 Winter Teaching and Advising Awards with faculty, advisors and students on January 12. We recognized excellence in teaching and advising, both hallmarks of our College. We are deeply committed to the success of all our people—faculty, advisors, staff and of course, our students. We want everyone in our OneScience community to thrive, not just survive!

We welcomed special guests from the project, ESTEME@OSU (Enhancing STEM Education). This NSF-funded project seeks to build community and increase evidence-based instructional practices in introductory-level STEM courses, from large lecture classes to smaller studio workshops and laboratories. The College is actively involved in and a strong supporter of ESTEME@OSU.

Congratulations to all of our nominees and to our award winners. The award recipients exemplify deep commitment, skill, effectiveness, mentoring and impact in teaching and advising, which helps build strong leaders in science. They are truly transforming lives.

We especially congratulate our award winners: Jen Olarra, Chris Coffin, Oksana Ostroverkhova and Indira Rajagopal. You make us proud!

2016 Award nominees

Olaf Boedtker Award for Excellence in Academic Advising

Tasha Biesinger, Microbiology
Bill Bogley, Mathematics
Jen Olarra, Integrative Biology - winner
Chris Pastorek, Chemistry
Kari van Zee, Biochemistry & Biophysics

Loyd F. Carter Award for Outstanding and Inspirational Teaching in Science, Undergraduate

Bill Bogley, Mathematics
Daniel Myles, Chemistry
Chris Coffin, Physics - winner
KC Walsh, Physics
Phil Watson, Chemistry

Loyd F. Carter Award for Outstanding and Inspirational Teaching in Science, Graduate

Ren Guo, Mathematics
Sandra Loesgen, Chemistry
Malcolm Lowry, Microbiology
Ethan Minot, Physics
Oksana Ostroverkhova, Physics - winner

Frederick H. Horne Award for Sustained Excellence in Teaching Science

Indira Rajagopal - winner

2016 Winter Awards ceremony and reception photos