Skip to main content
The Pi Mu Epsilon insignia with text that reads "Honoring Exceptional Undergrads May 24."

Pi Mu Epsilon Induction Ceremony

On Tuesday, May 24th, 2016 Oregon State University Pi Mu Epsilon chapter honored and inducted 19 undergraduates who have shown exceptional scholarly activity in mathematics.

Pi Mu Epsilon (PME) is dedicated to the promotion of mathematics and recognition of students who successfully pursue mathematical understanding. To promote mathematics, the National Pi Mu Epsilon Council sponsors an annual conference in conjunction with the Mathematics Association of America’s (MAA) annual MathFest. Pi Mu Epsilon also sponsors a journal devoted to topics in mathematics accessible to undergraduate students. Papers from OSU students and faculty have appeared in this refereed forum. Oregon State University's chapter, Oregon Beta, was installed in 1938 and has been active since its re-installation in 2008.

The event included a lecture, "From Queueing Theory to Modern Stochastic Network Models: A Mathematician's Perspective," by guest speaker Prof. Amber Puha of California State University, San Marcos.

Congratulations to the following students inducted to PME this year:

  • Daniel Barnes
  • Vanessa Bean
  • Thomas Cramer
  • Jakob Daniels
  • Margaret Davison
  • Richard Deyhle
  • Patrick Flynn
  • Geoffrey Gonzalez
  • Gary Ito
  • Tymothy Mangan
  • Camille Moyer
  • Camille Range
  • William Reynolds
  • Cody Rucker
  • Antonio Sam
  • Melissa Scarborough
  • Erik Thierheimer
  • Saxon Thune
  • Jill Weimer
Students inducted into PME 2016.

For more information on PME or the Oregon Beta chapter, contact the Faculty Advisor PLACEHOLDER: Dr. Dan Rockwell.

Read more stories about: events, students, awards & recognition