Skip to main content
A collage of 14 undergraduate students that were apart of the 2020 OSU Research Experience for Undergraduates.

2020 Research Experience for Undergraduates

The 2020 OSU Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU) program in Mathematics and Theoretical Computer Science, directed by Prof. Holly Swisher, was a great success! Ten students participated, from a variety of institutions across the country, including OSU's own Devin Goodwin and Darwin Nesheim. There were three research groups, led by OSU faculty members Blessing Emerenini and Ricardo Reyes-Grimaldo (mathematical biology), Juan Restrepo (dynamics and machine learning), and Holly Swisher (partitions and modular forms). One group, including Adriana Duncan, Simran Khunger, and Ryan Tamura, under the advisement of Holly Swisher, recently had their poster recognized as an "outstanding poster" at the 2021 Joint Mathematics Meetings!

The OSU REU program in Mathematics and Theoretical Computer Science is one of the longest ever running REU programs, running nearly every summer since 1987! See for more information.

In particular, the registration deadline for this coming summer is February 24. Proposed mentors and projects are: Hoewoon Kim "Navier-Stokes Equations and Stability Problems in PDEs", Yevgeniy Kovchegov "Probability and Stochastic Processes", Patrik Nabelek "Rational Functions in Mathematical Physics", and Mike Rosulek (EECS) "Secure Computation in Cryptography"

Read more stories about: students, mathematics, awards & recognition