Skip to main content

Pi Mu Epsilon Induction Ceremony

Pi Mu Epsilon Induction Ceremony

On Monday, May 17th, 2021 the OSU Pi Mu Epsilon chapter honored and inducted 33 undergraduates, who have shown exceptional scholarly activity in mathematics, into the national mathematics honor society.

Pi Mu Epsilon (PME) is dedicated to the promotion of mathematics and recognition of students who successfully pursue mathematical understanding. To promote mathematics, the National Pi Mu Epsilon Council sponsors an annual conference in conjunction with the Mathematics Association of America’s (MAA) annual MathFest. Pi Mu Epsilon also sponsors a journal devoted to topics in mathematics accessible to undergraduate students. Papers from OSU students and faculty have appeared in this refereed forum. OSU's chapter, Oregon Beta, was installed in 1938 and has been active since its re-installation in 2008.

The ceremony featured a colloquium lecture, "Mathematics and the Future of Biomedical Imaging" by guest speaker Prof. Melody Alsaker of Gonzaga University.

Congratulations to the following students inducted to PME this year:

Anneli N. Brackbill
Yu Chen
Dominic W. Daprano
William R. Dettmer
Jack H. Dickinson
Michael P. Dugan
Jingjin Fan
Matthew R. Gradwohl
Nolan D. Gunter
Seth W. Johnson
Ryan J. Little
Yinjie Liu
Erik M. Lo
Evelyn McCue
Tyler Midcalf
Carson J. Mowrer
Saki C. Nakai
Eli J. Nicholas
Josie E. O'Harrow
Richard L. Puro
Trevor S. Reid
Kyra A. Rodak
Henry W. Sprueill
Mingming Su
Elaine Swanson
Ya-Heng Tai
Felix H. Tyson
Ryan M. Unitan
Philip G. Warton
Wyatt D. Whiting
Kayla-Rose Witzke
Youli Zhao
Qianzhu Zhou