Skip to main content
Graduate students standing on the steps in front of Kidder Hall.

New Graduate Students 2021-2022

Front Row: Ranoa, Posch, Jones, Chowdury; Back Row: Holm, Tuffour, Harrison, Radke, Pfeiffer, McCollum; Not Pictured: Abeysekara, Valloud, Angulo Barba, Cornelius

The Mathematics department welcomed 14 new graduate students this fall, five enter with a Masters, nine with a Bachelors; four were awarded scholarships!

  • Sachini Abeysekara – International student from Sri Lanka – Bachelors from University of Peradeniya
  • Fernando Angulo Barba – Masters from University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
  • Kamrul Chowdury – International student from Bangladesh – Masters from Chittagong University of Engineering and Technology
  • Erwin Cornelius – Masters from Illinois State University
  • Nicholas Harrison – Masters from Western Washington University
  • Jackson Holm – Bachelors from Montana State University-Bozeman
  • Sarah Jones – Bachelors from Southern Oregon University
  • Jon McCollum – Masters from California State University-East Bay
  • Peyton Pfeiffer – Bachelors from University of Redlands
  • Lily Posch – Bachelors from Western Oregon University
  • Zach Radke – Bachelors from Portland State University
  • Jason Ranoa – Bachelors from University of Wisconsin-Parkside
  • Prince Tuffour – International Student from Ghana - Bachelors from Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology
  • Andres Valloud – Bachelors from Western Oregon University

The Math department is pleased to announce graduate students who received awards for the 21/22 academic year.

The Math department had 3 students who had their Wei Scholarships renewed for the 21/22 year. These scholarships are from the Wei Family Private Foundation. This foundation is a non-profit organization, established to honor the memory of Dr. (Mrs.) Chung Kwai Lui Wei and Mr. Hsin Hsu Wei. The purpose of this foundation is to award scholarship grants to students of Chinese heritage with high academic credentials. Fourth year students Chifan Leung and Nachuan Zhang, along with second year student Peter Cowal received their renewals of this award.

“It is my honor to renew the Wei scholarship, which reduces my living expenses and enables me to focus on learning. I would like to express my sincere thanks to the Wei Family Private Foundation.” -- Nachuan Zhang

First year graduate student Erwin Cornelius was awarded a scholarship from the ARCS (Achievement Rewards for College Scientists) Foundation, Oregon Chapter. The ARCS foundation seeks to advance science and technology in the United States by providing financial awards to academically outstanding students.

“The ARCS program award made my decision to attend Oregon State an easy one. Through the generous contribution of the ARCS program, I will be better supported as I work toward my academic goals.” -- Erwin Cornelius

Erwin Cornelius kneeling in grass

Erwin Cornelius

Provost Scholarships were awarded to first year students Jackson Holm and Prince Tuffour. The purpose of the Provost’s Distinguished Fellowship and Scholarship program is to support programs in the recruitment of Oregon State’s most meritorious graduate students. Sachini Abeysekara was also awarded a Provost’s Scholarship and will be joining us in winter term.

“Being a recipient of the Graduate Provost Scholarship has truly been one of the life changing opportunities for me and I am extremely grateful to OSU for giving me this opportunity.” -- Prince Tuffour

Prince Tuffour

Prince Tuffour

“I’m incredibly grateful to have received the Provost Scholarship and to be able to study mathematics at Oregon State. My time here, so far, has been a really positive experience for me and I feel incredibly fortunate to be here and to have received such an honor.” -- Jackson Holm

Jackson Holm

Jackson Holm

Congratulations to these graduate students!

This article was created by the Newsletter/Media Committee. Please email with any comments.