Skip to main content
The Memorial Union building at night.

New Graduate Students 2023-2024

This Fall, the Mathematics Department welcomes 15 new graduate students. Five of which enter with a Masters, and ten with a Bachelors. Four were awarded scholarships.

Seth Alderman – Bachelors from Oregon State University

Christopher Cericola – Bachelors from Seattle University and Master’s from Louisiana State University A&M

Madison Collins – Bachelors from Oregon State University

Stefanie Fazekas – International student from Austria, Bachelors from National University Ireland Maynooth, and Masters from National University Ireland Maynooth

Heather Fogarty – Bachelors from UC Davis

Keith Gallegos – Bachelors from Olivet Nazarene University

Aren Lampman – Bachelors from University of Arizona

Mansi Sanjay Mahajan – International student from India, Bachelors from St. Xavier’s College and Masters from University of Delhi

Emmanuel Oguadimma – International student from Nigeria, Bachelors from Nnamdi Azikiwe University

Adefisayo Ojo – International student from Nigeria, Bachelors from University of Lagos, Masters from Washington State University

Oluwabusayo Oni – International student from Nigeria, Bachelors from Lagos State University, Masters from University of Lagos

Noah Prentice – Bachelors from Kalamazoo College

Logan Richard – Bachelors from University of Louisiana Lafayette

Bailey Sharon – Bachelors from Western Colorado University

Emerson Worrell – Bachelors from Colorado College

The Math department is pleased to announce graduate students who received awards for the 23/24 academic year.

Three of our returning students, Peter Cowal, Hsiang Thum and Chifan Leung, all had the Wei Scholarship renewed.

Peter Cowal

Peter Cowal


Hsiang Thum

Chifan Leung

Chifan Leung

Stefanie Fazekas, Heather Fogarty, and Mansi Sanjay Mahajan were all awarded the Provost Scholarship. The purpose of the Provost’s Distinguished Fellowship and Scholarship program is to support programs in the recruitment of Oregon State’s most meritorious graduate students.

Stefanie Fazekas Profile

Stefanie Fazekas

Heather Fogarty

Heather Fogarty

Mansi Sanjay Mahajan Profile

Mansi Sanjay Mahajan

Aren Lampman was awarded the ARCS scholarship (Achievement Rewards for College Scientists). The ARCS Foundation Oregon Chapter advances science and technology in the United States by providing financial awards to academically outstanding students who are U.S. citizens studying to complete Ph.D. degrees in science, engineering, math, technology, and medical research at Oregon Health & Science University, Oregon State University and the University of Oregon.

Aren Lampman Picture

Aren Lampman

Oluwabusayo Oni was awarded the Ramanujan-Hardy Fellowship. This fellowship was established to help recruit and retain post-baccalaureate and graduate students from communities that are historically underrepresented in higher education.

Oluwabusayo Oni Profile

Oluwabusayo Oni

Read more stories about: graduate students, mathematics