Skip to main content

Mathematics Graduate Student Awards

Mathematics Graduate Student Awards

The list below presents the most recent graduate student awards given by Mathematics Department and presented at the annual Lonseth lectures.

Awards given by the department

William F. Burger Graduate Teaching Award

Established in memory of former faculty member William F. Burger, this award recognizes superior teaching by graduate students

2022-2023 winner: Sarah Jones

Award for Outstanding Performance in Coursework

This award acknowledges exceptional academic success achieved by a graduate student.

2022-2023 winners: Andres Valloud and Jacob Yadush

Award for Excellence in Qualifying Exams

Acknowledges exceptional performance in qualifying exams by a graduate student.

2022-2023 winners: Calvin Woods and Jacob Yadush

Graduate Student Excellence Award

This award acknowledges students for overall excellence in scholarship, including academic performance, research and leadership.

2022-2023 winner: Peter Oberly

Graduate Student Academic Achievement Award

This award acknowledges students for sustained success in academic performance and scholarship.

2022-2023 winners: Arthur Mills, Lily Posch, Chatchai Noytaptim, and Ayse Yiltekin

Awards given by organizations outside the department

Mathematical Sciences Graduate Internship (MSGI)

The National Science Foundation (NSF) Mathematical Sciences Graduate Internship (MSGI) program is administered by ORAU through the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE) under an agreement between NSF and the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). ORISE focuses on scientific initiatives including educating the next generation of scientists.

2021-2022 winners: Lisa Bigler, Naren Vohra, Rachel Wofford

NETL Postgraduate Research Program

The NETL Postgraduate Research Program (PGRP), managed by the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education, is a high-intensity program designed to not only identify recent master’s and doctoral graduates of high promise, but to continue developing advanced research skills within those graduates.

2020–2021 winner: Evan Rajbhandari

Oregon Lottery Graduate Scholarship

2021-2021 winner: Choah Shin

Funds for this scholarship are provided through the Oregon State Lottery and will be awarded to domestic or international graduate students enrolled in an advanced degree program at Oregon State University. These scholarships will be awarded on the basis of academic merit and financial need.

Other departmental awards